Living Tissue

By: alexanderlewin

Feb 20 2016

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Drawing, Old Testament, Photography, Poetry, Rumi, Sufism

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.4
ISO:160
Shutter:1/100 sec
Camera:Lumia 520

The beloved arrives. My roof and door
become living tissue. Stay tonight.

I have business in the city.
If you leave, I will not survive.
Give me one night.

Many people are in my care. Their blood
is my ascending planet. I must follow that.
Taste my blood, I beg.

A rare offer. Do you know how it is
for those with me? To die
seventy times and seventy times
be born again.

abe's blade

The prophet Isaac is dust by the door.
Die. I will bring you back.

Do not flutter in my hand.
Do not wince at the knife blade.

Abe & Ike (5)

Laugh as you are pulled from the garden
and plunged into powdered sugar.

You are Isaac. I am Abraham.
How could I hurt you? Love is a father.

The beloved leaves like a gust of wind.
Do not hurry, I call. Go slowly.

This is as slow as I can move.
No one has ever seen me when I hurry.

Be quiet now. The gray sky-horse is lame.
Flame reaches to the thicket.
Quieter. Save some for another day.

Abe & Ike (4)

Jelaluddin Rumi (1207-1273)
tr.Coleman Barks
from Rumi: Bridge to the Soul
HarperCollins 2007

Leave a Reply

